Kailyn’s Buffalo Chicken Tacos

Buffalo Chicken Tacos
Original Recipe Here

I don’t know about you but I love Buffalo chicken anything.  Wings, dip, you name it.  I also love cooking chicken in the slow cooker and baking it in the oven.  I am always paranoid when I cook chicken in a skillet that it won’t be done, and thus I rely on my trusty kitchen thermometer to tell me if it’s done or not. ( I was always taught the safe zone is between 120 degrees and 140 degrees, more towards the 140 ed.) That’s why I love my slow cooker. Put chicken in on high with some liquid for 6 hours, boom.

Because food is such a  big deal to me and my hobby as well, I menu plan and we have set “theme” nights.  Tuesday is always Taco Tuesday, and I’m working out making Friday Fishy Friday.  Jeff, my husband LOVES Mexican and could probably eat something Mexican every day. Thus, that is why we have tacos mostly always in rotation.

I cooked my 2-3 chicken breasts for the tacos on high in the slow cooker for 6 hours with 1/4 cup of chicken stock and 1/2 c of Frank’s Red Hot.  The last 2 hours I switched it to low.
I have been cooking my chicken for tacos this way for a couple weeks, it’s super easy when I come home from work, I just pull the chicken from the crock pot, and shred it in a bowl.


The original recipe also called for blue cheese, which I LOVE, by my picky husband does not. He does however love Ranch, so I adapted the recipe and replaced the blue cheese crumbles with shredded cheddar cheese, and  replaced the dressing with this Healthy Ranch Dressing that uses 1 cup plain non fat Greek Yogurt, a Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning packet and 1/4 cup skim milk.  We like a strong  ranch, so I added extra garlic, dill and pepper.


Also the only vegetables the original recipe calls for is carrots and avocado and tomato.
I ended up making my own fresh Pico De Gallo, which I just tossed together some red onion, 1 vine ripened tomato, and half a seedless cucumber together with some minced garlic, olive oil, lime juice, cilantro and some fiesta seasoning I got from Tastefully Simple.
I served the carrots alongside some diced red bell pepper, black olives, fresh cilantro and freshly diced avocados that I poured lime juice over.  I served them with whole wheat tortillas.
They took a little time to assemble, but boy were these babies good.

 

What I like about this dish, is how versatile it is. You can use whatever wing sauce you want, and whatever toppings you want. I like vegetables, so this was a great way to get our serving of vegetables, and with the ranch being only 22 calories a serving, you don’t have to feel guilty about enjoying it. I always have Jeff grade my meals with A,B,C, or F. This tells me how much he liked the meal and if it’s something worth making again.  He graded this meal with a A, so it will be put into the Taco Tuesday rotation. Try it at home, and let me know what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

