Review: Life of Pi

I have tried to get back into reading lately. Oddly enough, it was Twilight: Life and Death that got me on the roll again, much life before when I read the original Twilight and that catapulted me back into the world of reading. I joined GoodReads.com after reading it in January, and set myself a goal to read 20 books in the next year. I just finished book 3, which had been sitting on my shelf for quite some time (as do most of my books).

If you haven’t heard of it by now, a quick summary:
Life of Pi is about a boy named Piscine “Pi” Patel. His family owns a zoo in India, and upon decision of leaving India for Canada, Pi and his family set out on the Japanese boat, the Tsimtsum, which sinks on their voyage. Pi manages to rescue a few animals including a hyena, a zebra, and orangutan, and a Bengal tiger named Richard Parker.  The story follows his castaway journey.

I got into the first part of the book pretty quickly, enjoying reading about Pi’s polytheistic appreciation. (He believes and follows three religions simultaneously) and even the beginning of his castaway journey intrigued me, but somewhere in the middle I got bored. I am not sure if the slow pace was part of the intent of getting the idea across, but I put the book down, and didn’t pick it up for weeks.  I picked it up once again, yesterday and finished it. I kept wishing I would get more out of it.  I had heard others describe it as this great story, and I think I expected it to make me reconsider faith, and hope and to be awed by this character’s spiritual journey. But I wasn’t. I rated it 4 stars on GoodReads, and that was being generous. It’s not my typical book, I tend to be rather into romances and young adult books (yes, I know I’m no longer a young adult, don’t remind me). Every now and then I read books or stories that have nothing to do with love and romance, and enjoy the break. This was a break from my usual, and while I enjoyed it, I didn’t enjoy it at the level I was quite hoping for. Still I would recommend it to a friend, or anyone interested in the castaway style tale.

 

Leave a Reply

